Crescit eundo (2012)

For piano quartet (and five dancers)
Choreography by Sarah Mettin
Duration: 12 minutes

World premiere: February 17, 2013
Roulette, Brooklyn
Francis Liu, violin; John Stulz, viola; Aminda Asher, cello; Taka Kigawa, piano; Jonathan Howard Katz, conductor
Dancers (from Mettin Movement): Katrina Cunningham, Cailan Orn, Damani Pompey, Weaver Rhodes, Sarah Stanley

This work is available for retail purchase from Theodore Front Musical Literature.
This work is available for institutional purchase from Harrassowitz (OttoEditions) and Theodore Front Musical Literature.

Program note: At the very launch of Periapsis Music and Dance, we held a choreographer competition to choose an artist I’d collaborate with as composer for a premiere on our inaugural concert. Sarah Mettin was the winner, and she worked with dancers from her company for the occasion. We decided on having sections that highlighted different instruments, corresponding to different dancers, while the overall structure would be one of growth and acceleration. So the piece begins in a near stasis, and little by little it gathers energy and momentum.

A second excerpt reel, from May 2013: