Passacaglia (2012)


SKU: RFM121611 Categories: , , , , , , ,


PASSACAGLIA (2012) by Jonathan Howard Katz

For flute, clarinet, marimba, piano, violin, and cello

Duration: 7.5 minutes

9 in. x 12 in. bound piano score, six bound parts

Note: There is another version of this work for full orchestra.  This sextet is the original version.

This work is available for retail purchase from Theodore Front Musical Literature.
This work is available for institutional purchase from Harrassowitz (OttoEditions) and Theodore Front Musical Literature.

Program note: This work, though originally not intended for dance, became my first collaboration with choreographer Erin Dillon, who later joined Periapsis Music and Dance. It’s true to its title, though some parts sound more traditionally passacaglia-like than others. Severe and stormy, it nevertheless allows for some more whimsical variations. An obvious inspiration is the fourth symphony of Brahms, and in fact I wrote an orchestral version of the work in 2014.


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Passacaglia (2012)”